Winter Comforts

Unfortunately for some of us, winter is here, and winter means cold. I have found it tough to find the right first post, but I think talking about our comfort foods and drinks that we love to have during the winter months is a good start. As we get closer to Christmas, we will explore our family traditions and favorite food memories.

What do I like to drink in the winter? Anything hot and sweet of course. I like a good cup of tea myself sweetened with Stevia, an all natural, zero calorie sweetener. Stevia.com says:

Stevia is a South American herb that has been used as a sweetener by the Guarani Indians of Paraguay for hundreds of years. The leaves of this small, green Stevia rebaudiana plant have a delicious and refreshing taste that can be 30 times sweeter than sugar.

I have used Stevia in many recipes, but this isn’t about Stevia. That will come in another post. My favorite tea is orange pekoe with Stevia, or even Mint tea with honey. Both are very comforting. I also love hot chocolate. Although I love the traditional of these, I am thinking of kicking it up a notch by trying some ideas. Any suggestions?

I wrote the blog and had to come back to this point because I realized I forgot the most important meal of the day! Breakfast! I don’t have a totally favorite breakfast dish, but my most favorite dish is polenta. Polenta you say? Yep. I tried it in the bowl, and it was ok, but then I put it into a 9×13 pan and when it cooled, then the fun begins. Heat it up – I use the microwave, and I added the flavor! I use the same thing as oatmeal, having it with soy milk, brown sugar and cinnamon. Oh! It’s so good!

Ok, now for the lunch or supper meal. It’s a real toss-up between crab couscous, bacon rice, pasta and sauce, or chili. All are really comforting, and very good. The crab couscous and rice are my own concoctions, and the others are converted family recipes that have history. Do you have any recipes with family history? I’d love to know about them.

Ok, the last thing I have to mention is desert! I love deserts even though I don’t bake too much anymore. But desert doesn’t have to be just baked goods. Believe it or not, even in winter, I like cold things. So, I’d have to say that anything chocolate goes as well as a home-made granita. What do you like?

So, no matter what you like to get you through the winter blues, whether they are hot or cold, savory or sweet, I encourage you to share with me and anyone who else who wants to. What do you put down your food tunnel?

A salad made from potato, yellow bell peppers, and celary.

A way to use up leftover potatoes

About Michelle Earl

Hi. I'm Michelle, and I live in Edmonton Alberta with my husband. I have been writing as far back as I can remember. I write primarily fantasy and poetry, but I do dabble in other genres. I am a legally blind artist and author, creator of several blogs. I am also married. I like to draw, paint, garden, and do crafts, all when I have the time and energy. I belong to the Salvation Army Edmonton Crossroads Community Church in Edmonton.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Comfort Drinks, Comfort food, Desert, Drinks, food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

