A1 Bacon Rice

Ready for a recipe? I bet you are! With the colder temperatures here, I want to stay within the realms of comfort foods. Bacon is a big thing for people, so I thought I’d start with this. I made this up when I was trying to figure out what to do with bacon besides frying it, grilling it in a grill pan, or putting it in a salad. That’s when I came up with Bacon Rice.

INGREDIENTS

1 lb bacon
1 onion halved and sliced
1/2 green pepper halved and sliced
1 litre Knor / Campbell’s vegetable broth (Or whatever is on sale, or you can make your own.) This will be used for cooking your onions and other veggies. The rest will be for the rice stage. Use more if you have more people.
1/4 of a kg bag mixed vegetables
2 tbsps apple cider vinegar
Pepper to taste
4-5 cloves garlic
1 large mug jasmine / par-boiled rice (any that takes 20mins to cook.)

Slice onions into enough broth to cover the bottom of the dutch oven on medium heat. Sprinkle in pepper. Slightly carmelize onions and dump in the green pepper and garlic. Dice bacon and empty into dutch oven. Brown bacon. DO NOT DRAIN FAT! That’s where you get your flavor. Once bacon is browned, empty in the mixed vegetables. Bring the mixture back up to temperature. Then measure out your rice. I use a large mug – it provides enough for leftovers that way. Stir in rice. Measure out 1 1/2 times your rice measure for broth. For example, if you have put in 1 mug, put in 1 1/2 mugs broth. Bring to a boil while still on medium heat. Once at a boil, switch to low for 20mins.

After the twenty minutes is up, put in approximately 2 tbsps of apple cider vinegar. The key here is to taste the apple flavor, but not overpower it. THIS will open up the flavors and cut the fat of the bacon. Let sit for 5 minutes.

Serve

Serves 4-6

I’m sorry I don’t have a photo for you right now. I will make this soon so you have a reference. If you don’t like green pepper, you can substitute with other vegetables. Adjust as required for your family. We happen to really like onions, so that’s why we have lots. 🙂 Feel free to use this recipe as a guideline.

About Michelle Earl

Hi. I'm Michelle, and I live in Edmonton Alberta with my husband. I have been writing as far back as I can remember. I write primarily fantasy and poetry, but I do dabble in other genres. I am a legally blind artist and author, creator of several blogs. I am also married. I like to draw, paint, garden, and do crafts, all when I have the time and energy. I belong to the Salvation Army Edmonton Crossroads Community Church in Edmonton.
This entry was posted in Bacon, Comfort food, food, Grains, main, Meat, One Pot Meals, Rice and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

