Dressing or Stuffing

Whatever you call it, I did it on New Year’s Day. As I wrote last week, we will be focusing on the turkey dinner. I researched a recipe on the net an decided to adapt it to my own needs. It turned out pretty good. The recipe was from About.com. I’m going to post the recipe here and make my own notes about how I did it. Pictures will come later.

Basic Bread Stuffing

Ingredients:

* 1/4 cup finely chopped onionsI also like onion, so I just used a small onion, and it doesn’t have to be fine. I like Medium chopped.
* 1/2 cup chopped celery
* 1/3 cup butter I mistakenly gave this 1/2 cup.  It was still pretty good.

* 4 cups bread cubes
* 1/8 teaspoon pepper
* 2 eggs, beaten  I used 1 duck egg which is the equivalent to 2 chicken eggs.
* 1/2 teaspoon salt  I’m not a salt person, so I didn’t use it.
* 1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon ground sage
* 1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon poultry seasoning  For the seasoning, see below.
* turkey or chicken broth  I used vegetable which works just as well.

Preparation:

Parsley, sage, rosemary and thyme…no, no rosemary.  I didn’t have any poultry seasoning, so I used my own blend.  I had some butter left over from the turkey and since I didn’t use my hands to dish it out, I felt that I could use the same thing in my stuffing and it worked really well.  The spices got a better chance to marry with the mix and made it a better mixture.  The egg was purchased at our local farmer’s market from Green Eggs and Ham, a local farm here in Edmonton.
Sauté onion and celery in the butter until softened. Combine onion mixture with bread, pepper, eggs, salt, sage and poultry seasoning in a large mixing bowl. Stir in broth until well moistened. Enough for an 8 to 10-pound turkey. Or, bake in a greased covered shallow casserole at 325° for about 35 to 45 minutes.  This is what I did. Take the cover off the last 5 minutes to brown.

The only problem with this recipe is that it makes enough for 2-4 people. Otherwise it’s a great recipe. I give it 4 out of 5 stars.

About Michelle Earl

Hi. I'm Michelle, and I live in Edmonton Alberta with my husband. I have been writing as far back as I can remember. I write primarily fantasy and poetry, but I do dabble in other genres. I am a legally blind artist and author, creator of several blogs. I am also married. I like to draw, paint, garden, and do crafts, all when I have the time and energy. I belong to the Salvation Army Edmonton Crossroads Community Church in Edmonton.
This entry was posted in food, Side Dishes, Special occasion, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

