Oxtails?? What are They?

We’re going from what’s common today to what was common in days gone by. Apparently, according to JoA Martin, a writer on ehow.com, oxtails were a dime a dozen in the Depression Era. What was inexpensive then is now more expensive now. Well, unless you get a good deal like I did. I did some research and found the article I mentioned earlier as well as another recipe. I decided to combine a little of both recipes to make mine, and it turned out very well. Oxtails are a well used part of the ox as they are the tail. There is cartilage, but a lot of meat and cooked the right way, it can be a very succulent delicacy.
Raw oxtails browning in frying pan
SLOW COOKED OXTAILS

INGREDIENTS

3-4 pounds oxtails
1 Onion halved and sliced (or you can slice as rings.)
4-5 carrots pared and sliced (In the pictures, I just broke them in half, but I’d recommend using your own discretion.)
3-4 potatoes (It says cubed in the recipe, but I quartered the potatoes as I didn’t want them to get overcooked.)
1-2 small turnips (the purple and white kind) sliced thickly or quartered
2-3 tsps dry thyme
1-2 bay leaves, depending on the size
Salt to taste (I didn’t use salt as there’s enough in the sauce)
1/4 tsp pepper
1 cup beef broth (vegetable works just as well.)
3 tbsp Barbecue Sauce
2-3 tbsp flour
1/4 c water (You can use red or white wine. I used white.)
Browning Oxtails in Frying Pan
METHOD
Everything assembled
Brown oxtails in frying pan (or you can use a grill pan, or just put them in the broiler.)
Place browned oxtails in Crock Pot
Put in all ingredients except for the flour and liquids.
Make a Slurry of the barbeque sauce, flour, wine and water. Pour over the whole crock pot and stir it up.
liquids whisked together.
Cook on low for 8-10 hours. On the last hour, stir everything around and turn to high.

Serve and enjoy!!

Oxtails with carrots, onions, and potatoes

About Michelle Earl

Hi. I'm Michelle, and I live in Edmonton Alberta with my husband. I have been writing as far back as I can remember. I write primarily fantasy and poetry, but I do dabble in other genres. I am a legally blind artist and author, creator of several blogs. I am also married. I like to draw, paint, garden, and do crafts, all when I have the time and energy. I belong to the Salvation Army Edmonton Crossroads Community Church in Edmonton.
This entry was posted in Comfort food, crock pot meals, food, main, Meat, meat, Oxtails, two pot meals and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Oxtails?? What are They?

  1. Minecraft says:

    It’s interesting to see this point of view. I can’t say fore sure if I agree or not, but it is something I will think about now.

Leave a Reply

