The Onion – Wah! Time to Cry – NOT!!!

Ah, the onion, a robust flavor in cooking circles. There are many different types of onion from the green to the common onion. It is used in cooking and medicinal ways as it’s very versatile. I myself use a whole onion in most recipes as you’ll find out. When I researched the Onion at Wikipedia, I found out that they are usually called Garden or bulb onions in layman’s terms. You can go there if you want the full latin term, but I find that so many other articles, blogs, etc already do that, so I tend to stay away from that kind of thing…especially since I don’t understand it.

Onions have been used since probably the dawn of time for their uses. I won’t go into it deeply, but onions have been used in various countries to treat everything from angina to colds.

I know, you don’t like to cry when you peel an onion. Neither do I. Many people have suggested various ideas to me to keep my eyes from watering, but I have found that the best way is to NOT breathe through your nose. I have found out that if I do that, my eyes water. Granted, that if I get an extremely powerful onion, it will still happen, but it’s less likely to happen if you do that.

Now on to the technique I want to tell you about. In previous recipes, I have said to “slightly caramelize the onions.” How do I do that without using a lot of fat? Easy.

Onions in dutch oven

slightly caramelized onions


1. Start with a Teflon pan. You don’t have to, but it makes your work a little easier. The process is still the same, none-the-less.
2. Put in about 1 tsp olive oil and heat it with whatever dried spices or herbs you like using in the recipe.
3. Put in your onions. Stir occasionally, but keep an eye on it.
4. Once your onions start to stick, that’s when you splash in the vegetable broth…just a little – enough to pull off the stickies from the bottom.
5. Repeat steps 3 and 4 until slightly browned.

You’ll find that once you do that, the flavors of all your dishes will intensify and become earthy in nature. I hope this will take away the mystique and keep you from crying.

Happy cooking!

About Michelle Earl

Hi. I'm Michelle, and I live in Edmonton Alberta with my husband. I have been writing as far back as I can remember. I write primarily fantasy and poetry, but I do dabble in other genres. I am a legally blind artist and author, creator of several blogs. I am also married. I like to draw, paint, garden, and do crafts, all when I have the time and energy. I belong to the Salvation Army Edmonton Crossroads Community Church in Edmonton.
This entry was posted in Caramelizing Onions, technique and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

